FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone I am kind of new to the forums. I have been looking and reading a lot but this is my first time posting. I am thinking about getting into 3 gun comps with the 17. I was wondering what everyone's thoughts are on different optics people are using on the 17 in 3 gun comps and which optic they think is best or have had the most success with in competition for being able to engage targets from close-long range. I have seen a bunch of posts on optics but nothing specific to 3 gun (Please point me in the right direction if a thread like this already exists).
Thank you very much! Wisdom is much appreciated!

·
Registered
18 Posts
1 X 4 or 1 X 6 of whatever flavor you prefer are pretty much the standard optic for 3gun. A 17 would work great in Heavy Metal Division but some clubs restrict HM guns to be iron sighted only. Some clubs have a HM Scoped class though. A 17 does not work so well in Tactical Iron or Tactical Optics Division because 20 round mags vs 30 or 42 or 60 round mags puts you way behind on big stages. There's no advantage to shooting a .30 gun in TI or TO. The best advice I can give you is don't buy anything before you shoot a few matches. What you think you need going in is rarely what you end up using, wanting or needing. Shoot what you've got. Meet and talk to some experienced shooters. See what the fast guys are using. There is are a bunch of good reasons why they use what they use. 3 guns shooters will be more helpful to a new shooter than you'll believe. Be safe and have a good time but get your wallet ready. 3gun gets spendy really fast.

·
Registered
157 Posts
I used my 17 in what IndianaMultiGun calls Heavy Tactical. That's basically Heavy Metal as far as rifle rules go, with the exception of allowing optics on the rifle.
None of the ranges I shoot at are much beyond 300 yards, so my 1-4X was fine.