• Bushing

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Bull barrel

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Bushing. No real reason why, I just do. That and the fact you can't use a GI guide rod with a bull barrel, you have to have a FLGR.

·
Registered
15,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
See, I find the bull barrel easier to take apart.

Throw a tiny piece of a paperclip in the hole in the guiderod, and everything comes apart so easily.

·
Registered
178 Posts

On bull barrels there is no bushing around the guide rod and barrel as shown in the above picture.

Here's an example of one with a bushing.

·
Registered
1,519 Posts
I have a series 80 Colt Combat Commander (with Bushing), and a series 80 Colt Stainless steel Defender (bushingless). I grow up in the service with the government .45 which all have bushings. My only concern, or thought on the issue is the friction the barrel has on the slide on a bushingless one. It's alot cheaper to replace a bushing than the entire upper receiver. The only reason I finely bought the defender was because it was stainless steel rather than high carbon steel.

IMO the bushingless pistol is more difficult to take apart than the one with the bushing. I can take apart and put togeather the combat commander one handed. I can't with the defender.

·
Registered
15,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I had a Springfield 1911 Defender PDP for many years - I ended up selling it 2-3 years ago, because until recently - if I wanted a new gun, I pretty much had to sell one to have money to buy another.

I think it is the only gun I have sold that I sort of regret. But anyway - it had a carry comp on it, and it used a bull barrel. And to me, it was always easier to disassemble, and have the spring held captive on the guiderod while disassembling...

But, we all have our preferences I guess :?

·
Registered
1,519 Posts