FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21,554 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was able to get to the range today and put 201 rounds (one WWB 100 pack had 101 rounds) through my FNP-9. It was my first time shooting it, and I am also new at shooting handguns. As I previously stated, I was using WWB, which left the front of my gun pretty dirty (what do you guys use to clean the polymer?) I have the FDE, so it is quite noticeable. I was only hit in the face (on the lips) once, and that was a last round.

For those more experienced then me, I was consistently left and usually high as well. I tried a different grip (more of a competition target grip) and put 2 rounds in the X, then went back to the standard grip and started going left and high (about 3" left and 2" high). I rotated my support hand (left) forward a bit and was doing somewhat better. I noticed I had to adjust my grip a fair amount to shoot better as well. I also cut the tip of my trigger finger, which was bugging me a bit, but I doubt that effected much.

Overall, the groupings I had were pretty good with a few everynow and then that were way left, high, or right (I was catching myself expecting the recoil and twitched a couple of times due to it, which explains poor shots). Like I said, this was really my first time shooting a handgun (previosly only fired a few rounds from friends guns), so overall I was pleased with the weapon and somewhat pleased with myself (being it my first time and all). Any suggestions would be appreciated on how I can shoot better :?

·
Registered
873 Posts
First off, congrats on your FNP purchase.

Now, as to the fouling on the muzzle area. The WWB is kinda on the dirty side, but it does work very well. I just use a patch lighly soaked in bore solvent and wipe the weapon off. Then dry it with a paper towel right away. The polymer is actually pretty tough stuff.

It sounds like you already have the answer to your accuracy question sir.