FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2,202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
HI EVERYBODY!!

Just checking in with some update, thoughts and questions. Forgive me if this turns out too long. Im bored.

This FNX-40 Stainless is turning out to be the best $300 I ever spent! $350 out the door after shipping and background check. I bought this through an auction, second hand from a pawn shop in VA, and as best I (and the FFL) could tell it had never been fired. The mfg shipping label on the case indicates this thing is maybe a year old. However, there was not ANY marking on the chamber block to indicate the slide had been being actuated. That did start to appear once I started playing with it and racking the slide.

I managed to put 400 flawless rounds through it so far. Exclusively Federal: Federal Premium LE HST in 165 &180 gr, LE Hydro shok in 135, 165 and 180 gr, AE in 165 & 180 gr, and even a box of the Walmart specials WM5223 (yes Federal makes those too). BTW (my insider understanding) the Walmart WM5223 are the same round as the AE40R1 specially packed for walmart ;) now ya know. She Ate every round without a single malfunction of any sort.

I am used to shooting a Baretta 92 from way back and this thing is WAY snappier. First time shooting the FNX 40 (a friends), first mag I think I hit the paper once. Not used to combat sights POA POI. I was doing the 6 O'clock hold and pulling low. I think the one that hit was a high flier LOL. But I do know in the right hands my SS FNX-40 is acurate. I handed IT and 3 full mags to the friend who turned me on to the FNX-40, he proceeded to punch the 10 ring out of the VisiColor Target he rolled out to 40ft. If it was the carnival I would have owed him a bear.