FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All these Ps90 issues with American Eagle ammo, are they repeatable with the latest ammo/rifles? Anyone tried to collect statistics and other facts about? I am new to this rifle but not to the guns, normally AE is overall very good ammo for any other calibers I know. Is it possible that rifle was not clean or lubed properly while this issues?

Anyway, yesterday I shot 200 rounds of AE 40gr with my brand new PS90, no single issue found...

·
Registered
1,579 Posts
I've had no problems with it either but evidently, some people have had issues. It would be great if we had lot numbers for the offending ammo and then we might be able to correlate if this is an isolated incident or a more widespread problem.

Reactions: SAVAGEJIM

·
Registered
3,225 Posts
I have heard of many probs with A&E the bullet is glued to the case :-D:th_happy-rotfl4: not crimped like other bullets! Its not even super-glue, most probs happ with ps90 since the rounds to need to be pushed upwards some, strange that this stuff doesn't void warranty since its a prob wait to happen.

I would never use the stuff!

·
Registered
1,639 Posts
The glue issue is what I read in several places in this forum.
But since the Federal American Eagle (AE) 5.7X28mm is not really made by AE, but only rebadged and resold Fiochi ammo, does that mean that all other Fiochi made 5.7x28mm rounds suffer the same glue issue?

Being new to the FN 5.7x28mm scene, I am completely naive to what 5.7x28 ammo is Fiochi made and which ones are not.
Of course, AE is 5.7x28mm is Fiochi.
But is FN SS197SR also rebadged Fiochi?
Which other 5.7x28mm ammo is also Fiochi?

So far, the only 5.7x28 ammo I see on the shelves are Federal AE and FNH (the SS192-198 series).
I don't even know if other ammo makers such as Remington, Winchester, PMC, etc. manufacture 5.7x28mm ammo.

·
Premium Member
21,737 Posts