FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a relative newbie when it comes to rifles, and was wondering what most people are using in there FS2000s? Since the FS2000 is 1/7 twist, will lighter .223 rounds be ok for range sessions? Is it hard to find 5.56 ammunition in the heavier weights? I've never seen 5.56 at my local stores, only .223 and want to make sure I'm going to be ok using light .223 ammunition. I just want to make sure my knowledge of the following is correct:

Any rifle designated for the 5.56 round can utilize .223 safely, but a rifle chambered in .223 CAN'T/SHOULD NOT shoot 5.56 rounds. Is this right?

·
Registered
23 Posts
The FS2000 is chambered for 5.56x45 so you will not harm the rifle by using .223 ammo though due to the 1:7 rifling your accuracy may be adversely affected by the use of lighter weight ammunition. My FS2000 tends to shoot the heavier weight rounds the best ( specifically Black Hills 69gr Match 223 ) which groups range from 1.5" to 3". The FS2000 does good with the 62gr surplus ball ammo as well, but when shooting the lighter 55gr ammo my groups are in excess of 3.5".

·
Registered
23 Posts
The FS2000 is chambered for 5.56x45 so you will not harm the rifle by using .223 ammo though due to the 1:7 rifling your accuracy may be adversely affected by the use of lighter weight ammunition. My FS2000 tends to shoot the heavier weight rounds the best ( specifically Black Hills 69gr Match 223 ) which groups range from 1.5" to 3". The FS2000 does good with the 62gr surplus ball ammo as well, but when shooting the lighter 55gr ammo my groups are in excess of 3.5".

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·