FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I'm new to the 5.7 world I've done a lot of searching, but I'm still unlear about the ammo.. I understand that hte ss195 and 197 are the main 2 rounds that are available to the general public, no problem there.

It appears from a Law Enforcement view that the SS190 would be a better round because it can defeat bad guys wearing body armor (just like a 5.56 round with a 16" barrel, and most rifles do) so is this available to LEO's? Or is it totally off the market? Where can a police agency obtain it if it is available? Is there a better round that SS190 for our LEO's and Military (or U.S. secret service)?

I know that other certain brands or ammo require a letterhead purchase, such as Winchester Ranger ammo, and like the SS190 is legal to own, just restricted by the manufactuer. Is this the case on the SS190?

Oh, and has anyone ever got a hold of any Tracers? Great fun at night!! :-x

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Just realized I should have posted this in the Ammo forum, but this was intended for use in a PS90 rifle so..... sorry mods.

I've also found a few answers, and found out this is a Agency Purchase only round and not individual officer on letterhead option.

I don't want to push the SS190 issue since this appears to be taboo since it is "armor piercing" in a pistol, or whatever. Fine by me, I don't want to stir the S*** pot, but this logically lead me to ask this :

How can they sell AR15 pistols that shoot full power 5.56 rounds that are "armor piercing"? (and this is a loose definition of AP, as it really doesn't meet the Armor piercing definition by ATF). I don't get it, what makes the FN round so different? Perhaps because only FN is producing weapons that shoot this round right now? If an AR pistol is available, and much easier and cheaper to obtain than a 5.7 pistol, why is it different?