FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’ve been hunting Public Lands for over 30 years. My goal has been to harvest a mature buck in this fair-chase style of hunting. Last week I took some time off of work to celebrate my birthday by doing what I love, and that’s hunting Whitetail Deer.
After seeing a couple legal young bucks over the weekend, and having nearly half-dozen Doe’s around me earlier in the day, I jumped a doe and saw another deer off in the distance behind it. I quickly shouldered my rifle to check for antlers. When I saw horns, the reticle settled on the shoulder and squeezed the trigger. The buck collapsed and I immediately took off running to close the approx. 100 yards, as I didn’t know how well he was hit with all the brush in the woods.
When I walked up on this deer I was amazed at the body and antler size, as I had never taken one of this caliber. I plan to have him shoulder mounted, showing off his scars from fighting (3 cuts on the ear & 2 broken tines); I thought how fitting to take him with the SCAR.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Very nice B’day present, what bullet/ammo were you using.
Thanks. I was using the Hornady Black 165 Grain Ballistic Tip. I didn’t realize how square I had hit him in the shoulder, I could see him still moving and struggling to get up, so I sent 3 more for good measure (in hind-sight they were not req’d but I was not going to lose this deer).
I dug this slug out of him and was impressed how it retained its weight and expanded.

·
Registered
277 Posts
Great looking buck! Good story telling too. Happy Birthday to you!

Are you running the factory gas jet, but in suppressed mode for shooting the Hornady ammo?

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Great looking buck! Good story telling too. Happy Birthday to you!

Are you running the factory gas jet, but in suppressed mode for shooting the Hornady ammo?