FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last night I ordered some blued magazines for my new FNP-9.

I think I ordered them off of a Forum-sponsored site: Bud's Gun Shop

I was curious, if anyone has had any experience with these magazines yet?

They have a different look, as far as grooves and shape go.

Hoping they work.

New to these forums as well.

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/17135

·
Registered
15,575 Posts
It was likely a factory FNP mag - as I do not think anyone else is making mags for the gun.

Instead of being silver metal - it would just be made out of blue steel.

Most magazines are made that way - some use nickel plated instead.

·
Registered
107 Posts
TaylorTAP said:
Can somebody clue me in on what a blued magazine actually does? I'm a gun owning newb and I appreciate the help.
IMO and maybe most others, just one thing over stainless, no light (Sun) reflection. The last thing you want in a "combat" weapon is anything shining off of it. I have a stainless .45 and it sure wasn't my 1st choice, but I couldn't find black, one day it will be black... All in all stainless mags again IMO is the better choice and it would be a perfect choice if it was blackened stainless, stainless mags are very smoooooooth and will slip right in with no lubricate (wow that doesn't look good in type does it :oops: ) .

·
Registered
21,553 Posts
I ordered two "blued" mags from Bud's a few months back. Same price as stainless and I thought I'd give 'em a try. Well, when they came, they were stainless. I wasn't complaining though (since I found out blued mags tend to rust quicker and are generally need more maintainance). I don't think FN makes blued mags for the FNP series. Although, that looks like it might be a different picture, though I'm not 100% sure since it was a while ago. I guess you'll find out when you get them.

·
Registered
21,553 Posts
ShipWreck said: