FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, I just purchased a brand new FDE Scar17s yesterday. Today I loaded up the factory 10 round magazine with winchester .308. I started shooting it for the first time, and the second round jammed on the feed ramps at a pretty nasty angle. I dropped the mag and pulled the bolt back, popped the mag back in and shot the rest of the magazine with no problems. I loaded a second magazine with fiocchi 150 grain rounds. I got about 4 rounds down the pipe with no problems, and then pulled the trigger and chunks of plastic and metal spit into my face. Good thing I was wearing safety glasses.

scarbroken.jpg

What happened? I checked the brass case and there was no signs of overpressure or splitting, and the bolt looks fine. It like destroyed the plastic around the feed ramps. I've been shooting this .308 ammo out of my AR10, with no problems. I spent a ton of money on this gun and I am really dissapointed because it took forever to find one in FDE around me locally. The gun shop basically told me I could bring it in, but they would need to do a full diagnoses on it because they have never heard of this happening. I would assume there is some sort of nasty manufacture defect with my weapon?

·
Banned
1,896 Posts
That "cut out" at the top of the magwell is normal for the SCARs. Don't know how chunks of plastic and metal could spit into your face?? Are you a lefty? What ammo were you using?

Edit: OP posted ammo type as I was posting.

·
Registered
876 Posts
Sadly that's normal. It's done by FNH when they import the part. Wish they got a US company to mold their lowers so they didn't have to grind the corner to remove fixed mag. I forget the exact law that makes them import like that but, it's saving lives everyday! Good work DOJ!

·
Registered
32 Posts