FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the scar family. What kind of kit and products are you all using to clean your scars? My rifle cleaning kit was purchased for a .22 back in the day. I've never owned anything as nice as a scar before and want to make sure I take really good care of it with quality cleaning/lube/etc.

thanks in advance from this newb :)

·
Registered
498 Posts
For between most range trips I usually just pull a bore snake through my Scar 2-3 times. For a more thorough cleaning of the barrel after lots of rounds this is the method I follow with all of my long guns even if they aren't necessarily precision guns:

It’s long but a good video to help understand why you are doing what you are doing.

Basically you don't need/want to scrub the bore aggressively, it will wear down the rifling, throat, and crown areas. Less of a concern with the chrome plated Scar barrel but you can still shorten life if you keep hitting the throat/crown with the metal fittings on the end of a cleaning rod over and over. A bore guide is inexpensive and helps protect the throat area as well.

Let a mild solvent like Hoppe's #9 do the work for you, and only a few passes with a brush to break up big chunks and help distribute the solvent. Then just push patches until clean. Oh and you don’t have to use Parker Hale style jags, normal jags where you bayonet the patch still work just fine.

·
Registered
3,731 Posts
Used to use Froglube then moved on to Fireclean. Fireclean has been working out well for me. I generally stay away from the all in one stuff but Fireclean is surprisingly effective as both solvent and lube.

·
Registered
153 Posts