FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I efiled a form 4 for an osprey 45 around march 10th and after seeing some guys that submitted them around then getting approved I decided to call to the NFA branch and see how mine was doing. I was kinda surprised to hear that it was approved on July 18th(last Friday) and that my dealer hadn't called me. I sent him an email today and this was his response....

"We did receive an email saying that your Form -4 Has been approved but we have not yet received an original copy of that form to release it. I have attempted to call the ATF to see when we might see the original but have had no response...."

I was under the impression that when you efile they don't send you an actual stamp like when you paper file they just email you a copy of the form 4 with an "estamp" on it? I'm very new to this and my form 4 was actually the first form 4 that my dealer had efiled so he is also new to the efiling thing. Just curious if this is the case or if we do need to wait for the ATF to mail an actual paper copy to him? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
421 Posts
BV,

Pretty sure that if you efile you will only get an email with a PDF attachment of your form/stamp. I know this is the way form 1 efiles work as I received my 2 SBRs that way earlier this year.

You might have your dealer check the email he received to see if there is a PDF attachment.

·
Registered
1,733 Posts
If you efiled then your dealer should have got a approved email. He should be able to forward or print the approved from from the eforms website. There is no 'physical' stamp the e-stamp is what they send. I think your dealer may be confused/misinformed

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #4