FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've decided I need a FAL, but I know little about the various models, types, etc. A local gunshop had a Century R1A1 Sporter, 308, with the handle and had some sort of a mount screwed on the left side with a 4x28 scope of some Chinese make. Sure wasn't beautiful, but looked fair, in my mind, but, I'm still not very good at judging these surplus/clone-type weapons. Asking $600. Some of youall have not been favorably inclined towards Century.....and recommend DSA...etc..!?? So, my questions are:
1. Is this price, based on the little info Ive given, anywhere in the ball park??, and
2. Where can I get a listing, descriptions, etc of the various FNFAL models, variants, etc??
Im a newbie as to FALs...any info, etc would be helpful, Thanks

·
Registered
1,171 Posts
Stay away from the Century- you will spend more money getting the thing to fire consistently than what you will pay for it!!! :(

Models:

1. DSA- see their website (if for shooting, go this route)

2. Springfield Armory

a) SAR 48/4800 (if for shooting, next alternative/SAR 48 will be true pre-89 and not subject to 922(r), if you want to add parts).

3. FM/LSR

a) Brazilian pre-89 (hard to find- more of a collector rifle)

4. FMAP

a) Argentine pre-89 (hard to find- more of a collector rifle)

5. FN (due to pricing, for collecting)

a) G-series/GL-series (fixed wooden stock/21" barrel)
b) 50.00 (fixed plastic stock/21" barrel)
c) 50.41 (fixed plastic stock/22" heavy barrel w/bipod- LSW)
d) 50.42 (fixed wooden stock/22" heavy barrel- LSW)
e) 50.63 (folding stock/18" barrel)
f) 50.64 (folding stock/21" barrel).

Hope this helps! :shock:
If any further information is needed, please query. :?

Tony

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
AGG: