FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,479 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been messing around for a couple of years (off and on) with different setups on some AR's. Different lowers, uppers, barrels, bolts, grips, triggers, sights, stocks, slings, etc.

Everyone has their own opinions, and I would like yours if you don't mind. I don't hang out at ARF but maybe I should, I don't know.

For a "M4gery" type setup, what would you buy if you were assembling an AR from scratch to be a good all around 5.56 16" carbine?

1. Lower, I have different ones, can't really say I like one better than another. The trigger inside it matters most to me.
2. Upper, as long as it sits down well on the lower and has a flat top, I like it. I have had to swap around upper and lower combinations on mine to get good "sets". I've been lucky and I seem to have a good match on all mine so far. I can hold them up to the light and barely see any light between uppers and lowers. There was one upper I bought that just didn't want to sit down all the way though... so I got mad and smacked it with a rubber hammer :oops: and it sits down nicely now.
3. Barrels, I have stainless, chrome lined, carbon, heavy, light, M4, and I think I prefer the M4 the best. My Bushmaster 14.5" with a welded on suppressor shoots as straight as my 16" barrels. Works for me.
4. Bolts, I have Ti on one rifle, the rest are just regular AR15 bolts. They have worked fine so far, but I admit that none of them see a lot of shooting, so I don't know if in the long run it pays to buy an expensive bolt or not.
5. Grips, I like the Hogue... that is all.
6. Trigger, I have tried McCormick, Timney, and RRA Match. I know there are many more but the RRA works well for me so I will stop there.