FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
yo

im no expert on either, but one main difference comes to mind.
the saiga uses clips, the fn uses a tube like virtually every other shotgun.
you can top off a tube between firing...magazines not so much.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Saiga vs FN SLP

Saiga
+11rds w/10rd mag
+Reload times w/mags is quicker
+Can reconfigure; folding stock, shorter barrel
+Simple field strip/cleaning; no tools required

-VIOLENT recoil; did I mention the VIOLENT recoil.
-Shooting from the prone w/10rd mag = no-go; must cant the gun
-No rail for an optic
-trigger is rough
-Safety operation/location

FN SLP
+Very moderate recoil; you can shoot it faster (ie shot splits & target transition times)
+Trigger breaks clean = accuracy
+Rail for an optic; ghost ring sight
+Function reliability

-Tube capacity vs magazine; reloading time

Personal opinion, I like the SLP better.

Good shooting

·
Registered
20 Posts
I have never shot a FN TPS, but i owned a Saiga 12. Once you get past the allure it brings it is a piece of crap. I was told it needed a break in period and after that period it would shoot fine. Well that was crap, i broke it in cleaned it, messed with the gas plug, had a gunsmith work with it etc and it still would jam like crazy. A whole lot of good a 12 round clip is if it jams 4 times throughout the clip. Id say go FN SLP or TPS. Im saving for one myself.

·
Registered
149 Posts
I'll take the TPS/SLP over the saiga....

The TPS (Winchester 1300) action is really fast...
I can shoot the TPS almost as fast as a Semi auto. :shock:

·
Registered
22 Posts
i have a nice saiga 12 iz109 thats is exreamly reliable, not bad recoil, fast firing, fun to shoot and havent had a jam since the day i got it, also very simple to maitain and clean.