FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody. I'm new to the FN family as I just purchased a TPS. The guy I bought it from didn't have the manual, but I downloaded the Winchester 1300 manual so I could tear it down and clean it (still had cosmoline on it). However, I couldn't get the trigger assembly out because it looks like it's being block by a piece of the stock. Well, I don't know how to get the stock off either. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
15,559 Posts
I used to have a Winchester 1300 in the 1990s. If I remember correctly - there is a large hex screw that held the stock on to the receiver.

I don't remember the specifics on the removal of the trigger assembly, however.

·
Registered
408 Posts
If I remember correctly, before removing the cross pin, the firing mechanism needs to be disengaged. Then remove the cross pin. If the stock is indeed in the way, there is a large hex screw in the stock. Remove the cover with a screwdriver and use a long hex to get the screw out.

Most times, pulling down on the trigger guard towards the rear of the gun will pull it free. I always have trouble getting the 1300 broken down. I think it's more of an issue of it just being tight than being difficult. Once you've got the bolt out the front, I use my thumb of my off hand to push down from the ejection port. Seems to work ok. Getting it back in is just as fun. Hope that helps. I'll pull my 1300 outta the safe when I get home and refresh my memory if it still doesn't work for you.

zhur

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·