FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone, I hope this is an alright place to ask this question. I'm new to firearms because I previously lived in a state that greatly restricted and continues to increasingly restrict 2nd Amendment rights. I finally just got out of the People's Republic of New Jersey, and purchased my first firearm. I plan to buy many more to come.
Unfortunately I did not buy an FN firearm. I wanted something compact and that I could afford (I don't start my new job down here in SC for a few weeks), so I bought the Ruger Max-9. I'm taking a concealed carry course this week and have to bring my own firearm, and the Max-9 was the first one I came across that I picked up right after getting my drivers license and everything switched over.
Although I'm new to being a legal firearm owner, I've worked extensively in machining including lathes, mills (CNC and manuals), EDM, heat treat, etc.

I read a few reviews on the Max-9 the day I bought it (again, I needed asap for the class), and so far I don't regret it, but I've found that the reviews I read stating that it "takes the same rear sight as the M&P CORE, so there are many after market sights readily available," couldn't be further from the truth. While it likely does take the same sights, there are is hardly a readily available market of M&P CORE or Max-9 rear sights available.

I don't care for the non-night sight stock Max-9 rear sight. I'd like a tritium rear sight, but all I can find is a suppressor height M&P CORE sight, which is taller than I'm looking for.
I did some further research, and found a few Trijicon sights on the Trijicon website and found one that I may or may not be able to fit if I take a little bit of stock off the sight. I'm willing to give it a try if there's an excess of stock on the sight that I can take off and get it to work (not taking any stock off the gun).