FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am really tired about everyone bashing the FNAR, especially those that know nothing about the FNAR or any other firearm, so here it goes. First, the FNAR is no longer imported because of your president, not because FNH chose to discontinue them, therefore there are no more and will be no more in the U.S. market. This is straight from FNH at the 2014 Shot Show. I have owned gunshops in the greater Houston area for over 35 years so I am not a novice and have personally owned and shot more types, kinds, calibers and brands of firearms then most folks would in a dozen lifetimes. As to the .308 assault rifle, I have personally owned a M14 Socom (still have), Springfield M1A1-M14, Knights AR25, Les Baer, Armalite AR10, Bushmaster .308 custom, DPMS .308 tactical with stainless 24”, Rock River LAR8, a custom built with Krieger barrel and every goodie, etc. What I have kept, yes sold all of them except the Socom, was the FNAR. In fact I have 6 of them, 3 in a 20” heavy, 2 in a 16” and 1 in a 20” light. Out of the box the FNAR will out shoot every .308 in an AR platform I have owned, shot or seen. And friends, that is a lot more than most of you will shoot in a lifetime. So, at $1000-$1500 a copy, the FNAR is about the best buy out there for a .308 assault rifle with 20 rounds capacity. Rigged up with a red dot, Surefire flashlight grip and a folding stock, it is about the best hog gun around and has 20 rounds of deadly .308. I have the hog guns (16” and light 20”) rigged for 150 grain (cheaper) and the 3 - 20” heavies for the 168gr (optimum for a .308). One of the 20” has a Leupold tactical M6 and the other a Zeiss Z-plez 1000 which was built for a .308. They are shooting machines and accurate to 500+ meters. So, when you look for a .308, you can still find the FNAR at a very reasonable price. MSRP was $1499 when they came out and we sold a lot of them in my gunshhops at that price a