FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know. This has been discussed ad nauseum. But I'm struggling here.

First, low shooting. Every other pistol I own, I shoot center of mass with nice groups. My new FNS 9 shoots low left. I'm aware of the European sight picture and too much trigger finger. But that doesn't seem to be the issue.

Second. I've owned three FNS 9s over the years, and my latest is the only one that hasn't presented problems. So there's a confidence issue.

So. Both my G19 and FNS are candidates for EDC. Up until now it's been my Glock. But I find the FNS ergonomics better. What am I doing wrong with my FNS? I've been shooting constantly for almost 15 years, with tons of training.

Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
81 Posts
What are you setting up as your point of aim? IIRC on the FNs (took some getting used to on my FNXs), the dot of the front sight should cover the center of the target. I'm used to putting the top of the sight post at the center point of the target, so that definitely took some getting used to on my part.

I'm guessing you're a right handed shooter, so to the left may be pushing, as in too little trigger finger. I'm left handed, so if I'm pushing, I'm to the right, but if I'm too far left than I have too much trigger finger.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What are you setting up as your point of aim? IIRC on the FNs (took some getting used to on my FNXs), the dot of the front sight should cover the center of the target. I'm used to putting the top of the sight post at the center point of the target, so that definitely took some getting used to on my part.

I'm guessing you're a right handed shooter, so to the left may be pushing, as in too little trigger finger. I'm left handed, so if I'm pushing, I'm to the right, but if I'm too far left than I have too much trigger finger.
Ah! I didn't consider too little trigger finger. Excellent point. I'll give that a try. Thanks!