FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone had issues with the gun shooting somewhat low? Maybe 4 inches or so? I had someone at a range test my gun in order to adjust it and he said that I would either need to compensate myself or change the sights. Curious if anyone else has done anything and what works best. I saw several sizes on https://dawsonprecision.com/fnh-fns-fiber-optic-front-sights/ and figured one of them has to be good for 20-25 yard range but I'm pretty new to this all. Any help would be apprciated! Thanks in advanced.

I saw these stock dimensions in another post. Width isn't a huge deal to me, actually I've read that slimmer sights make target acquisition faster.

• Front Sight Height: 0.288"
  • Front Sight Width: 0.130"

·
Premium Member
15,226 Posts
What sight picture are you using FN uses the combat sight picture! might be the reason you are shooting low

·
Registered
980 Posts
SpojyCat said:
I've read that slimmer sights make target acquisition faster.
I wonder how sight width might makes a difference -- or what parts work best when slimmer?

A thinner front sight blade might be helpful for me, but not if the rear notch is narrower, too. I like sight designs that make the front sight stand out more clearly in the rear sight notch both vertically and horizontally. IF the rear notch is slimmer too, I'd probably have problems. But a too-wide rear notch would be a problem for me, too.

You seldom have a lot of choices in that trait when looking for off-the-shelf sights. If you go somewhere like Brownells and "roll your own" it could work. Makers of tritium (night) sights seem to offer fewer options in that way (if only because the tritium vials all seem to be about the same size).

·
Registered
50 Posts
My FNS-9C that I recently purchased was pretty much on with the front sight right where I wanted the bullet to hit.