FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to handguns but am trying to put together a decent collection for home defense and sporting. I recently purchased an FNX9. I also have an FNP45 and Sig P220, I like them both equally and both have been flawless. I have been so pleased with the FNP45 that I decided to go with the FNX9 for a 9mm offering. The FNX9 worked great at the range and I love the design especially the weight for a CCW option. The only complaint I have is the magazine release in cold temperatures. You hit the button and the magazine fails to eject from the mag well. You can manually pull it out but you shouldn't have to do that. Being a firearm that is from a high quality manufacturer like FNH I would expect that it should release freely. I will say that at room temperatures it operates perfectly, magazine comes right out upon depression of the mag release button, but at a colder temperature it sticks. Maybe its just my nature but I expect the functions of firearm like the FNX to work the same regardless of the temperature. I will note that with the FNP45 I have not had this problem. I sent the FNX9 back for service so they could address the problem and I just got it back yesterday, guess what, same problem still exists. So, going to send it back again, I'm hopefull that I can get this taken care of or I'm going to trade it out for something else. Aside from that, I love the FNX9 but like I said, it should work the same regardless of colder temperatures. Anyone have any ideas?

·
Administrator
11,689 Posts