FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I have been shooting the FNX with FF3 for a few months now, however I am out of adjustment in elevation. I need the red dot to move DOWN but I am out of adjustment, the adjustment screw cannot move anymore. It is quite close to where it needs to be. When sighting the red dot is floating above the iron sights, when the iron sights are dead on the target. I need to bring the dot down so it is closer to the top of the front sight post.

Does anyone else have this problem?

·
Registered
32 Posts
1.) Are you using the adapter plate? that may help add a little.
2.) With mine, If you want it to move down, you should be turning the adjustment dial towards the up direction. I know it sounds counter-intuitive, but since the beam is being reflected off the inside of the lens when you move the adjustment up, your actually bringing the reflected beam to your eye down.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Yes I am using the adapter plate, without it the screws will not go in far enough to keep it locked down tight. It would seem short screws and a thinner plate would do the trick. You are correct, turning in the up direction because that "up" means moving the point of impact up.. Which adapter plate did you use? It is sooo strange that there is so much adjustment in the down direction as labeled on the sight, but the "up" it just does not have enough adjustment.

When you look through your red dot, is your dot just above the front sight?

·
Administrator
11,187 Posts
Same here. Sent it back to Burris and they said it was within specs. So now I have a FNX45T with no Burris FF3. It was the second Burris that I tried. Ran out of elevation adjustment on both.

·
Registered
2,123 Posts
Try ignoring the sights and center the dot in the window. That's what I do on my CORE. sight it in that way. Very fast.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)