FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the FS2000. In reading the owner’s manual I came across the following two sentences:

2 types of magazine are available: a 10-round magazine and a 30-round
magazine.

Each FS2000 carbine has been designed to be fitted only with one type of
magazine.

It makes it sound like there are two FS2000s--one for the 10-round and one
for the 30-round. Anybody else catch that? That has to be a poor choice of words, right?

·
Banned
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The more I think about it I believe the gist/meaning of the sentences is not to use a magazine shorter than the equivalent of a 30-round magazine.

·
Registered
170 Posts
The way I read it is there are 2 versions. A 10 rounder and 30 rounder. Why? I'll tell you. Some states have laws saying no removable magazines and capacity limits. So the 10 rounder may be for them.

·
Registered
156 Posts
I believe what they are trying to say is that the gun is designed to be used with one size mag. By that, I am referring to the dimensions (i.e. height) not capacity. There is a ten round mag made for the gun that has an additional base so that the mag protrudes to a point that is about the same length of the standard 30 round mag. -I think what they are trying to avoid is someone jamming a physically shorter mag in the rifle and not being able to get enough of a grip on it to remove it.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Has anyone read the whole manual? It reads as though written by someone with Mandarin Chinese as his first language. All sorts of syntax and other errors. I can't imagine that it's that hard to find an American (or at least a Brit or something) to proof-read something like that.

·
Registered
43 Posts