FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought an FS2000 about a month ago. I have fired about 2500 rounds through it so far. The first thousand and a half consisted of mostly Fiocchi FMJ 55 gr with the the remainder being a spattering of Guatemalan surplus and green tip. The second thousand was Wolf........... I can hear it now: "Why would you shoot that crap through your $2000 weapon?" Well, for the sake of science, or at least curiosity, that's why. I was curious to see what the deal was with Wolf. So much has been written. Were the dimensions really out of spec? Would it really crud up the works? Would it feed through the FS2000? Would different mags work with it? Did it really smell like Siberian reindeer sh**?
I'm a practicing mechanical engineer with 20 yrs. experience designing complex medical devices, and guns. I am also a precision machinist and quite studied in material science with a focus on metals. Anyway, here's what I found out about Wolf:

I bought a thousand rounds of Wolf (polymer coated) 62 gr FMJ .223 Remington from Cabelas ($199). I downloaded a US Army Research and Development Center drawing of a 5.56 case (dwg. no. 9378276) for dimensional analysis. I measured 5 random rounds (taken from multiple boxes) of both Wolf and Fiocchi for comparison. I also inspected the rounds visually at 5X (optivsor). Here's what I found:

Both the Fiocchi and Wolf were in compliance with the US Army drawing dimensionally. I used a micrometer for the case dimensions and a caliper for the length dimensions. Every external dimension was measured. Elsewhere in this forum it was posted that Wolf was dimensionally larger than Fiocchi. That was not my experience. The Wolf Ammo was actually smaller in all case diameter dimensions, and the same as Fiocchi in length dimensions. The diameter of the Wolf bullet was in spec. but was out of round by .0005". The Fiocchi was also in spec but not measurably out of round.