FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15,552 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I copied this from a "Sticky" I made back when I was an Admin at Handgun Forum:
------------------------------------------------
Thought I would throw this together for new people to read when they want to buy a handgun, but have no idea where to start....

First off, people usually want to know about their state laws - every state is different when it comes to rules and regulations governing handguns. Two excellent on-line resources are:

http://www.packing.org and http://www.handgunlaw.us/

Of course, there is no substitute for getting it from the horse's mouth. I would do some research on that web site, talk to some employees at your local gun stores (go to a few, in case you get mixed messages), and also take a local NRA class (or some other type of gun education class). Be aware that many local law enforcement officials don't know the gun laws themselves - if you asked 5 policemen, you'd probably get 5 different answers. So, while this may make sense, be prepared to get mixed messages.

As for guns - I promise you that you will get different answers and suggestions from everyone. You will get advice stating that you should start with a revolver first, and some people will also say to start with a .22, or to buy a certain brand/model, etc, etc, etc.

The truth is, you should find a place that will rent various guns (I have a local range that rents them for $5 each, but of course you must buy the ammo from the range if you use a range gun). Find out what you like the most. Grip the various guns - see what is most comfortable. Then, try shooting them. A gun might be comfortable to hold, but not necessarily to shoot. If you have a friend who owns guns, this may also be a way to go, and it will save you the rental fees.