FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I noticed on the FNS-9 I bought that the trigger felt "gritty" and the break when the striker was released was a bit nebulous. I know that others have had similar experiences with thier FNS. While the "put more rounds through it" works fairly well I decided to try to improve things myself. That is what is included in this how-to.

Things I'm not:

I'm not a lawyer, but I on decent legal advice I advise you to only try this if you are comfortable with the process and have the experience needed to do this carefully. I am not responsible if you break your pistol based on what I have posted here. You must use your own judgement to decide if this process is within your own abilities.

I am not a gunsmith by any stretch. So if I use the wrong nomenclature please forgive me and let me know what it should really be called.

That being said: On with the show...

First things first. Get together what you will need to clean-up the grime and add some polish to the gun. Here is what I used:
  • Hoppe's #9 to clean the cosmoline and other grime off the pistol. (Feel free to use whatever brand solvent you like).
  • Break-Free CLP (or another decent gun oil like it)
  • A decent nylon brush (a good medium hardness toothbrush works as well)
  • Soft cloth or small towel (I used a piece of un-cut bore-patch)
  • Facial tissue (it will add that last bit of polish)
  • Cotton Swabs (You know Q-tips)
  • Turtle Wax brand All Metal Polish (I suspect Flitz would do the same job here but I prefer the Turtle Wax because I can also use it on the shiny bits of my car :mrgreen: )
  • The pistol! ;)

Step One: Clean the pistol as thoroughly as you can. Then we will focus on cleaning two specific areas.