FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I need advice from anyone familiar with shooting the 4" FNS v 5" FNS Longslide

I'm going to be purchasing a FNS compact soon to pit it against my Glock 26. If the FNS tickles my fancy, I'm selling my Glocks and switching over to the FNS line. If/when I get to that point, do I want to get a 4" or a 5"? I would primarily use it as a range gun, nightstand gun, and occasional concealed carry in the winter. I've been carrying for ten years and I am not bashful about carrying a large gun. If I print a little with either gun because of their 5.5" grip I don't give a rip.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
218 Posts
It all depends on if you want the manual safety or not, since the LS isn't currently available with one. Other than that, just a matter of preference really (or which you can get the better deal on when the time comes!)

·
Registered
63 Posts
The 5" barrel is the size of a 1911. The grip is not a big deal bu if you carry IWB the longer pistol may hit when you sit down. The 4" is more forgiving in that area. I think the 5" shoots flatter and it is easier to shoot accurately due to the longer sight radius. I have the long slide, standard, and compact and I like them all.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I've never shot the 4" model, but I find that the 5" isn't really any harder to CCW on the belt since it's really the grip length that gets you, and grip length is the same on the 4" and 5" models.

·
Registered
63 Posts
It's different but not extreme. The full grip absorbs recoil better and the sight radius aids shooting. The compact has a dual recoil spring and I think that tames perceived recoil a bit. With a good stance and grip both shoot pretty flat.

·
Registered
85 Posts