FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Everyone. Newbie here. I'm in a transaction locally for what appears to be a FrankenFAL. We've reached an agreement and I'm committed. I've done research, but not an expert to ID individual parts. I like the vibe of this forum and figured I'd ask here.

Definitely a DSA Type II upper receiver with unknown upper rail, Penguin SAW guard and grip, hump stock (DSA or Penguin?) and DSA 10-rnd mags (Damn CA). Based on the charging handle I am assuming it is aluminum and the rest are USA metric parts.

I can't ID anything else pictured nor the maker of the lower as that thingy is blocking the way behind the selector. What is that thingy?

There is also a DSA Muzzle Brake (currently thread protector installed), but I believe I would need an indexing washer to ID it. I've read that there is a paperclip method, but some mentioned steel paperclips and some didn't. What the heck does that even mean?

I won't discuss the price agreed, but if you have an idea of what you'd value it at, please do share. Thanks

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I can't help you but that is one nice looking FAL.

Thanks. Not mine yet, but very soon it will be. I'll enjoy it as much as I possible can. I own an AR, but don't think I'll enjoy it as much as the FAL. The AR was ehhhh and cool, but the FAL... The FAL just called to me. I like it more than the Daewoos and M-14s.

I figured out what the "thingy" behind the selector was. It's the take down lever. The photos of FALs that I've seen didn't have these or rather had different variants so I didn't take notice until now.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Nice riFAL. The lower looks like a metric, possibly StG 58. Most of the other parts are from an inch gun, possibly Aussie. The upper receiver is a DSA type 1.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #7