FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
21,554 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went shooting with a friend and his brother today. We shot trap and .22's, then shot my FNP-9. My friend has only shot a .22 handgun and his brother has never shot a handgun. Anyway, I am consistently to the left. At 25 yards, I'm about 10-12 inches left. 10 yrds, I'm about 4 inches left and a couple low. I thought the sights on the gun might be off, but when I let my friend shoot it, he put several rounds in the center with a few above and a few below. I then let his brother shoot it, and he was a bit all over horizontally and typically low.

So, why am I shooting left (about 2.5 inches at 7 yards)? Any suggestions would be much appreciated. This was my 4th time shooting a pistol, so I'm a newb at shooting it.

I figure I'm low because I was placing the sights basically horizontal with eachother. I figure if I raised the front sight up so it is about half to completely above the rear sights, I should be fine.

Also, I was shooting the 124gr +P Speer gold dot and Sellier and Bellot 115 gr FMJ. The +P is definately snappier and I was shooting left with both. At least my groups are tight :roll:

·
Registered
15,559 Posts
Try this:

Also, keep in mind - you need to leran to adjust both your grip - and also what part of your finger you use to pull the trigger. Try all 3 - tip of the finger, pad of the finger and the 1st joint. See how each makes the gun aim at a slightly different place as you actually pull the trigger. Find which of the 3 works for you.

I sometimes use a different part of the trigger finger depending on what gun I use.

WHat you are doing is typical for a new shooter.

Also - dry fire practice will help you - it will let U see how U are pulling the gun. Do this at home, and aim at something in the room. It helps if your target is a light colored wall - so you can see the contrast of the front sight, and how the gun is moving as you pull the trigger.