FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15,559 Posts
Hank said:
Not true- you can also drill out the blind pin. :twisted:
Yes, but people have mixed results on that - smiths who have done it before have better luck. I've seen people say they did it - and others who tried for houses to get the pin and not damage the barrel - then they gave up and just hacked it.

·
Registered
4,907 Posts
Careful....I believe if you remove the (aka chop) the flash hider off the barrel will be under 16 inches. I know that the actual barrel with out the sleeve is under 16. Hence the reason for the blind pin. Stay safe

·
Registered
520 Posts
blkbd said:
Careful....I believe if you remove the (aka chop) the flash hider off the barrel will be under 16 inches. I know that the actual barrel with out the sleeve is under 16. Hence the reason for the blind pin. Stay safe
Depending on where you chop it, you may not have a functional weapon for very long.

And I am no lawyer or anything, but I think it should go without saying that the only reason (at least without many aftermarket barrels out there) to take out the pin or cut your barrel would be to make a legal SBR.

·
Registered
520 Posts
Which brings up the question for those that have cut vs. drilled- special blade required at all? I am not all that familiar with cutoff saws, etc. Just basic wood working here. :p

·
Registered
408 Posts
Unless you have paperwork in hand, I wouldn't chop/drill/anything. The barrel and barrel sleeve for the PS90 are integral to maintaining the minimum barrel length.

If you have your paperwork, a good hacksaw blade or 3 will get you thru!

Zhur

·
Banned
2,293 Posts
I hacked mine off with a blade for cutting metal in my Reciprocating Saw.

I carefully made two blocks of wood to clamp the barrel shroud firmly in place. You need that sucker to be secure in your vice.