FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my SCAR17 fde for over a month now and I've been reading everywhere I can about what people are loading for it. I am relatively new to reloading and while I'm confident in myself, I'm just curious if the scar is any more susceptible to over pressure damage than say an AR10? I've done some load development that started to show pressure signs in my AR10 but she's held together just fine. Being new I am obviously cautious but still worry in the back of my mind that I'll accidentally do something wrong and blow up my gun. In fact, because of this (unwarranted) fear, I've never shot my scar. Brought it home, modified it to my liking, put it in the safe, and it's never been touched. My LWRC gets all the attention. How has the scar platform held up in torture tests compared to the AR platform?

·
Registered
1,875 Posts
I guess I don't understand your question(s). If you are reloading rounds that are over pressured then I would imagine it will cause problems. If they are within spec, there is no problem besides voiding your warranty. The 17s has been rugged enough to serve the finest soldiers on the planet so I think you'll be fine.

·
Registered
6,618 Posts
but still worry in the back of my mind that I'll accidentally do something wrong and blow up my gun.
Really this has nothing to do with how robust the rifle is. Any firearm currently in production will blow up if you mess up bad enough with your reloads. This is why manufacturers don't warranty them against home rolled rounds. If youre asking if the firearm is built well then the answer is a resounding yes. That being said as long as you're careful and meticulous you will be fine. Proceed with caution.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)