FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings!

I'm a forum newb, but a long time gun owner. Recently I shot a FAL and have had a recent jones for a .308 battle rifle to go with my M1 Garand. Anyway, a friend wants to sell this rifle, which he bought purportedly new about 10-12 years ago. I've read a lot of things about Century's rifles, and this appears to be a FrankenFAL, with inch sights and metric magazines. As you can see, there's still a fair amount of cosmoline in the action, but it opens easily after the first initial time, again due to cosmoline in the lever break.

Here's the rifle....

Anyone have any thoughts and/or adivse on this rifle? Is this one of the Imbel receivers built up with a Canadian parts kit which I've heard some not so nice things about? I put a couple of 30 cal lead slugs in some empty .308 cases to make some dummy rounds, and the action cycles fine by hand with the bolt locking shut no problem.

I know the proof would be in the shooting, but the owner is a bit hesitant to let me shoot it as of yet, but I may be to convince him, especially with some info from the experienced FAL experts out there....

Thanks in advance!

Allan

·
Registered
6,678 Posts
Welcome to the Forum Allan, I'm sure someone will be able to assist you with your questions. :)

·
Registered
82 Posts
The upper receiver is metric pattern and was made by IMBEL in Brazil and imported by Century. It's an excellent receiver.

The lower receiver (trigger housing) is metric pattern and is from an Austrian StG-58 rifle made by Steyr in Austria. Also excellent.

The barrel is inch pattern, could be Australian or British, need pics of markings on the barrel underneath the hand guards. The flash suppressor and threads have been cut off.

The furniture is all US made.

I can tell you what type of bolt and carrier you have if you post pics of the markings/stamps.