FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new member here and i have a few questions for you guys.
1. Is the scar 17 in your opinion one of the best battle rifles i can purchase? I have several years of experience with ARs-M4s in and out of the military. However i have been hearing a lot about how great the scar is. And i am really itching to get my hands on one to see for myself how it handels compared to an AR. But im a little scared of the $2,600.00 commitmen.
2. If you guys do convince me i wont regret the purchase of a scar 17, what are some of your suggestions on what kind of optic to slap on the bad boy?
3. What is going to be the smartest way to order one?
4. What is going to be my max effective range on a point target with the 17?
5. How do you gentleman feel it compares to an AR10? (Because thats my other choice)
If you guys could help answer some of these questions it would be greatly appreciated. I really want one, i just need some more info from people that own the weapon so that i have better understanding to what im getting into.
Thank you

·
Registered
6,620 Posts
Welcome. Do yourself a huge favor and dig around in the Scar17 forum. After about 2 hours of that you will be ready to take the plunge. There aren't many people (if any) who have purchased a 17 and got upset with its performance, reliability, and accuracy (less than 1MOA with Match ammo). Enjoy the community and be prepared to spend a boatload of money if you decide to stick around because it is inviteable.

Reactions: JamesUnruh

·
Registered
811 Posts
1. yes
2. the best you can afford
3. grabagun
4. 7-800 yards
5. more versatile and lightest .308 out there. I you wan't more accuracy you can spend more money on a GAP-10, Les Baer, or JP enterprise.
I agree with all of this except #2.