FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone ever heard of the "protective laquer coating" on the 5.7 ammo?I was told that a vibratory cleaner should not be used and only a sonic cleaner and simple green or similar should be used. I have never heard of this,however I am very new to the 5.7x28(although not new to reloading)BTW I am having a blast with the ps90 5.7x28 cartridge!

·
Registered
636 Posts
yep they will turn black in a tumbler. i am still working on a better system :?:

·
Premium Member
3,591 Posts
The "protective laquer coating" was used mainly for the P90/PS90 for better feed and prevent failures. Once a round is fired through, the laquer coating is basically stripped. The FiveseveN Pistol doesn't really need it.

·
Registered
36 Posts
So has anyone fired reloads with the coating gone in the PS90?

How big an impact on reliability and funciton does this really have?

ETA: From my searches I find lots of second hand story telling but few folks with actual experience in what happens once the coating is gone.

I guess FN's official stance is that it is necessary, but there might be ways to minimize the problem, moly on the reloads etc.

I'll do some experimenting once I start shooting and reloading.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
just started with the 5.7 for rifle

I have some brass I am going to reload and I will try to post as I go along .thanks to all for the replies

·
Banned
41 Posts
i think this coating thing is mostly alot of hoopla, think about how many blowback weapons have been in existance over the years and they didn't need special lubricants to work. I think its a bit of subtle marketing to try adn scare the reloaders away so they can sell more factory rounds. I'm going to be reloading some myself here pretty soon and have full confidence that they will work just as good as new ones.

·
Registered
36 Posts