FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,519 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm no engineer so don't flame me. I have a PS90 idea I wanted to float. If you look at the bottom of the magazine there is a small cup that fits into a nipple on the receiver just forward of the well(loading chamber). When you depress the Magazine catch you have to pick up on on the magazine to get it out of the well to change mags. Why couldn't you put a spring inside of the cup of the magazine or around the nipple, so that when you depress the magazine catch the mag would pop up?

·
Registered
22,109 Posts
Nice idea, I would have to look at it to say for certain, but I think there would not be much room for the spring that would be needed to have enough pressure to "pop" the mag up. You can allways try it. Hopefully no one takes you idea from you and makes a mint.

·
Registered
1,519 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well if some one can make a million bucks out of a .02 cent spring, have at it. However any future ideas will cost ya. :-D

·
Vendor
5,704 Posts
Just made a spring that fits pretty tight.
Works GREAT!! :shock:

Anyone can do it. It does help with the magazine extraction.

Great Idea! Plus Karma for you.

PM me and I'll send you one if you can't make it yourself. :?

Here are some pics

·
Registered
22,109 Posts
M1P90,

Thanks for trying that and posting photos! :?

I guess you would have to tinker and find the right size spring with tension for it to work flawlessly. I wonder in a "quick change" situation will the spring get in the way and slow you down or possibly jam things up so as to prevent the mag from seatign properly, thus wasting time.

·
Registered
408 Posts
I'd make sure that there is some sort of method of retention on that spring so it doesn't end up in the action of your gun. Besides, your hand is already over the magazine when you push in the mag release, it doesn't take much more to just wrap your hand around it and pull it off.