FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok so I'm still somewhat new to reloading and this may be a stupid questions but....

I am reloading for my SCAR 17 and my load data for Hornady Match 168gr BTHP using H4895 has a max powder charge of 43.3gr. Is it safe to try that powder charge or since the SCAR is semi-auto will it end bad. I don't want to blow up my barrel or be "that guy".

Also, is a roll crimp fine or should I taper crimping my loads? I've heard yes and no from multiple people. If I should be what is the best/easiest way to get consistency between rounds?

·
Registered
1,735 Posts
Ill be nice sinceyou are new to reloading. NEVER EVER start at a max load . Always work your way up with powder charges. Most the load data is for commercial 308 brass. Using Millitary brass max loading you could easily blow your gun and/or you face up. To be safe you should start at the min load -10% for millitary brass and work your load up, testing velocity and accuracy as you move up. Max loads does not equal the best for everything. As far as taper crimiping goes I put a small amount on all my bullets more on the cannelure ones.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I haven't started with a max load, I have more sense then that, I'm actually still quite bellow it. I'm just gathering info for future loads. Thanks for the tip on -10% for mil brass though! I don't have a way to test velocity yet, therefor one of the reasons I asked.

·
Registered
1,024 Posts