FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I'm not technically an owner yet. My FNP has been ordered, it should be here in about a week.

I went to my local shop/range looking for a S&W M&P. I rented one and did not like it at all. I am lucky enough to shoot at a range who's staff is very knowledgeable about the FNP's. I fell in love with the FNP-9 the moment I picked it up. They even had a FNP-9 as a rental option which made my purchase decision very easy.

I placed an order for a Black on Black FNP-9 USG ($500+tax). That seems to be a pretty good price for the USG based on what I have seen in this and other forums.

I have been lurking in this forum for about a week, and have enjoyed reading all the glowing reviews of this firearm. This will be my 2nd gun purchase, but really the first handgun I would feel comfortable defending my family with.

Thanks, I look forward to learning more from this community.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well after reading all the fun you guys are having with your FNP's I decided that I couldn't wait any longer and bought non-USG FNP-9 Black on Black that a local dealer had in stock. I am pretty new to shooting and I was worried that the safety on the USG version might get in the way during a defensive encounter.

The non-USG that I bought was brand new but it has a test firing date of 11/06. I was disappointed to see that it is a model with the notch in the FCG. I'm kicking myself for not looking for that before I purchased it. I know that this hasn't been sitting on the dealer's shelves because they were out of stock on these a week ago when I called. Is it common for a gun to have a born on date several years earlier than when it hits store shelves or did I get unlucky here?

Anyway I am looking forward to taking the FNP on its maiden voyage this week.

·
Registered
21,553 Posts