FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought an FMP 9 from my LGS for $460 out the door. The price was better than Bass Pro, I also like supporting my LGS over the big box stores and as an added bonus they gave me 6 hours of free range time. can't beat that.

I'm fairly new to hand gun ownership in the past I mostly owned rifles but I purchased a S&W M&P .40 for home defense and after learning how much fun they are to shoot I'm now well on my way to a very nice collection of hand guns. That being said I have noticed several things with my FNP 9 that I'm not sure if they are normal as I have not had similar isssues with my M&P's 1.) I have the black melonite coating but I have noticed several shinny bright metal spots showing up. 2.) when I shoot a mag empty the slide locks back but when I insert a new full mag I have to manually close the slide and it doesn't seem to want to close home easily. On the M&P's the slide close when I insert a new mag. Is this normal for the FNP? Also yesterday I noticed that the rear push pin was about 1/2 way out this was after going shooting several days ago. I was able to push it back in but I'm concerned what would happen if it backed out while shooting.

Are these just minor issues or should I be concerned? As I said the only other hand guns I can compare this to are a Browning Buckmark .22 and the S&W M&P's. Other than these issues I love the way the gun feels and shoots so much that I'm thinking of getting the .45 in SS and perhaps a SS 9mm to add to the collection.

·
Registered
1,605 Posts
First off, your hand gun's slide is not supposed to close automatically when inserting a mag. It should only close when you push the slide release button, or pull gently back on the slide allowing the slide catch to drop. I would take a closer look to see if your M&P 40 is malfunctioning as this is not typical behavior for most semi-auto handguns.