FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I finally received my FNS9 a few days ago and I thought I'd share my first impressions of it in comparison to my FNP9. I had scoured the net for pictures and comparisons such as Im making here to help me in my decision to purchase the FNS9 and I'm hoping this info is helpful to anyone out there considering making the change from the Hammer-fired FNP9 to the Striker-fired FNS9. I'm no expert and the opinions Im offering here are based on my experience with the FNP platform and my initial impressions of the FNS9. I have not taken it to the range yet but I have followed the advice of a previous Post and thoroughly cleaned/lubed my FNS9 and also I have been dry firing it quite a bit and can already feel a difference in the trigger.

The FNS9 and FNP9 are very similar in size with the main difference being in the height of the frame due to the DA/SA mechanisms. Grip angles are the same but the FNP9 is wider and fatter than the FNS. Its not a huge difference, but very noticeable when you switch back and forth.

The FNS higher beavertail and low bore axis makes a huge difference in my grip allowing me to really choke up on the handle. It points nicely and I like not having the decocker rubbing against my thumb. Slide releases on either are easy for me to operate and I havent had any issues with ejecting mags by accident with the FNS' larger ambi mag releases. I like the screw in the FNPs backstrap better than the little plastic lever that holds on the FNS backstrap. It seems more robust to me, especially with a little blue loctite.

Magwells are both very generous, but the FNS9 is slightly larger. Both make for very easy reloads. The grip texture is very aggressive on the FNS and I like it better than the FNP. I added the Guntape to the FNPs grip and it make a big difference without resorting to stippling.