FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my Five Seven, which is the first gun I have ever owned. I need some help on how to clean it, and what I should clean it with before I fire it first.

I picked up some "Polymer safe qucik-scrub action cleaner" by Shooter's Choice and I got some Tetra Gun Lubricant.

Are those safe to use? I've already cleaned the barrel out with the solvent. Please help.

·
Banned
4,097 Posts
Sorry man, but I have never come across either product. I personally use hoppe's and remoil and that works great for me! A lot of the guys here seem to use break free or CLP. Different strokes for different folks.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Is the break free CLP stuff really an all in one? Meaning does it clean, lubricate and protect? So I wouldn't need any gun oil to lube with that stuff? Sorry for all the questions.... again, I am new to a lot of this.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
No, it's cool. An all in one seems like the best fit for me. The two products I have... IDK. First the solvent... then some oil- that doesn't work for me. Plus, I'd like to use something that FN recommends.

When you disassemble the pistol.... do you spray that break free CLP everywhere then use the big black brush and whip it all down... what process do you use to clean your Five Seven?

·
Premium Member
2,955 Posts
Well, I'm a little anal with my cleaning process. After I field strip it I take each piece and clean it with break-free on either a swatch cloth or a cotton swab. I use a bore snake and break-free to clean the barrel bore (8 or 10 swipes). I don't use break-free heavily on the polymer parts. Once everything in shining, I put a little bit of clp on the sliding contacting parts and reassemble.

·
Banned
4,097 Posts