FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys

I'm sure this has been asked a million times but I am new to all this and just looking for a little bit of advice/input. I pick up my black "California Edition" SCAR17 on Saturday and am so torn on sights. My budget is 2k, and I would love a good dual purpose scope that I can shoot 0-500yards with, if that makes sense

My attention has been on the Elcan DR or the ACOG, but am open to suggestions. I appreciate any feedback/suggestions ahead of time and thank you for the input.

·
Registered
11,157 Posts
Congrats on your SCAR & welcome. Out to 500yrds there are so many options. If you can try something your interested in at the local range or from a friend first hand that always helps. I went with the ELCAN 1.5x6 and it suits my needs just fine, I really enjoy the optic and have no complaints. There are some pretty good "SCAR Optics Threads" on the forum if you hit up the <search> field you can ready for days. Good luck in whatever you choose.

·
Registered
671 Posts
0-500 yards Kahles K16i with SM-1 reticle all day. Now that the Z8i is coming out this year, it will be interesting to see if a K18i is released, if so that may be worth the wait. K16i is a pubic hair over 2k, if you really can't go over Leupold Mk6 1-6 is what you seek.

·
Registered
116 Posts
I may be in the minority but I actually have 2 optics for my 17s. I have a Bushnell HDMR G2 (34mm FFP) 3.5-21x in a QD mount and an Aimpoint Comp M4s in a QD mount ..... That way I can bounce between them depending on what kind of shooting I am doing.

I did have a Vortex Razor 1-6 on it for a little bit as a "do all" optic but Its hard to find an optic that gives you true 1x and high mag when you need it (No such thing exists) so I just went with 2 different optics :?

·
Registered
3,964 Posts
Elcan

·
Registered
43 Posts