FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to rifles, and made the right choice in making the FS2000 the first, and probably only, rifle I will buy.

I do need a scope. I hope to plink at 100+ m, only resorting to the 50m range when I must. Am I better off buying something like an EOTech and then a 3x or 4x magnifier in the spring when outside shooting is bit easier, or get a Lupold or similar 1- 3 scope? Other brands? Other magnification options? And I'll probably duct tape a laser pointer to the rifle when I want to play CQB.

I emailed magpul 's customer service asking them if they bought Monolith Arms, and if they did, when they might have the tri-rail ready for public consumption.

·
Registered
150 Posts
i don't think you'll need a magnifier if your plinking at 100m

i do have an Eotech 557 4x now the setup will cost a very pretty penny it dose bridge the gap between the cqc sight and a long range sight that still has that square picture the battery life is shorter than an aimpoint but you can buy Eotech batteries aka AA batteries anywhere

if you want an eotech you don't have to get the 557 the 512 will do just fine for 100m

but Bushnell makes a cheaper optic that resembles a eotech haven't used it so i can't speak about its reliability

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. What is the range of the EOTech without a magnifier?

I'm looking at the EOTech 517; my outdoor plinking will start at 100m, and then see how far I can go. My thought is when I can exceed the range of the EOTech, then get the magnifier. That might be a some time ...

·
Registered
56 Posts
fltsrgn said:
Thanks. What is the range of the EOTech without a magnifier?

I'm looking at the EOTech 517; my outdoor plinking will start at 100m, and then see how far I can go. My thought is when I can exceed the range of the EOTech, then get the magnifier. That might be a some time ...