FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
15,555 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I might buy a gun safe soon - but I only have handguns and the 1 rifle - my PS90. Anyway, the PS90 is obviously is short that it won't fit into the normal slots for rifle barrels in a regular gunsafe.

How are U guys doing it? I suppose I could lean it in the corner of the safe, but I'm not sure I want to worry about it sliding.

My main concern for locking stuff up is to kiddie proof my weapons. I won't be buying a super expensive one, so it won't be a 2000lb, immovable safe :roll: - It won't be super burglar proof anyway (although, I always have someone at home now). I just want to keep a child from getting to it as he gets older, and to cover my ass legally so I don't have a kid with one of my guns one day, and I'll get arrested (as a probation officer, I don't need that).

I was using a combination doorknob on a closet, and the door hinges have non removable pins now. I like the way my ammo is stored at the moment, and I have a hook and stabilizer mounted on the wall right now. So, the PS90 is free standing against the wall at the moment - looks pretty kewl too. I'd kind of prefer to keep a "gun closet." Moisture problems are less of an issue that way too.

But, the combo doorknob I have been using is broken, and I am returning it. I might get another one that doesn't have a motor that runs on batteries (the motor broke). But, before I spend another $100+ on a different combo doorknob, I might just buy a gunsafe.

However, I am not seeing any gun safe in my price range that fits what I want. I have mostly handguns, and most of these gunsafes are for rifles (with just 1 shelf at the top). I don't really feel like making shelves (I don't have the power tools and am allergic to wood dust, so I can't do it myself).