FN Herstal Firearms banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a noob here, and contemplating the purchase of a PS90. I'd like to mod it to a SBR. The last time I checked the NFA simple possession of an unregistered short barrel and the weapon it can be fitted to, regardless of whether it’s mounted or not, is a violation of the NFA Rules.

So my question is: What are the step by step procedures for complying with the NFA concerning the PS90? I tried Search and couldn’t find an answer. Got a link?

Thanks, Quentin

·
Registered
86 Posts
I believe you are correct
I think (read my opinion) that the correct order is to

1 purchase the rifle , youll need the serial # for the form 1
2 fill out the form 1 which can be ordered from atf.gov
3 have your local sherif sign the form and complete the fingerprint cards
4 submit the form 1 in duplicate with $200 check and pasport photos
5 shoot the rifle for a while until the approved form 1 arrives
6 purchase and instal the short bbl

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
panaceabeachbum said:
I believe you are correct
I think (read my opinion) that the correct order is to

1 purchase the rifle , youl'l need the serial # for the form 1
2 fill out the form 1 which can be ordered from atf.gov
3 have your local sheriff sign the form and complete the fingerprint cards
4 submit the form 1 in duplicate with $200 check and passport photos
5 shoot the rifle for a while until the approved form 1 arrives
6 purchase and install the short bbl
You are correct! I just got off the phone with the NFA Branch in Martinsburg, WV. The agent I spoke to said it is incumbent on the purchaser / manufacturer (you) to make sure they do NOT have both rifle and barrel in possession before approval.

Two additional steps:

7. Fill out Form 533.20, which essentially states you are an American Citizen. Send that in with Form 1.