FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,955 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, for those who don't know, I'm a self-defense instructor and I teach karate and ju-jitsu as well. I also (on occasion) help people with firearms safety information, and have helped several people in learning to shoot.

My chief instructor and I have talked this over at length before, and I've relayed this same info to several friends as well.

With a pump shotgun being used for home defense, my recommendation is to not have a shell chambered. I have two reasons for this, one is a solid tactical theory and the other is funny, but still with some truth.

*) Since home defense can easily and quickly become a close-quarters battle, and since many people don't know how to engage the slide on a pump shotgun for the first shot, if it's wrestled away from you there's a much better chance that they can't use it against you.

*) There's not much more of a pants-****ting sound than the rack of a pump shotgun. While funny, there's some truth to this - just like the display of any weapon can possibly deter an attack.

:eek:

Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,519 Posts
A shotgun is by far the best home defence weapons. It makes little difference if its a double barrel, a pump, or a semi auto. Most bad guys are not B&E your house looking for a fight. Thieves are cowards by nature. That being said, you should always assume that anyone breaking into your home is armed no matter what.

The tactical question is more involved. It depends on the layout of the home. Location of friendlies(family members). Number of targets that must be engaged. The will to Fight mind set. And last but not least, timing and proficiency with your weapon.

The sound of a pump racking a round might be intimidating but the sound that comes out the end of the barrel after the trigger is pulled is a life ender. My 2 cents.

·
Premium Member
2,955 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
devildoc said: