FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have shot my dad's 5.7 with the round trigger guard and it was great, blew away my Glock 17 in all areas.

I need some questions answered before i buy one. I work as a bodyguard and i like the fact that there are no manual safeties on Glock making it easy and quick to use. My question is how do the 2 models of 5.7 compare to a G17? Is there any manual safeties on the 5.7? can i carry the 5.7 cocked and loaded. which version would be better suited to my line of work.

I am a huge fan of FN. I first carried the P90 as a sheriffs deputy and just loved it being a lefty. I also own and FS2000 with an Eotech.

Any help or advice would be welcomed.

Take care and be safe.

·
Registered
15,555 Posts
The round trigger guard is the earlier IOM version. You can only get the USG version now. It is also a single action trigger - sort of like a Glock trigger, I suppose. So, there is no "cocked and locked" on this gun.

Just pull the trigger and go. Light trigger pull.

There is a safety ABOVE the trigger - and you use your trigger finger to deactivate it usually. You need not use the safety if you don't want to.

·
Registered
15,555 Posts
When I described it as a "Glock"type trigger - I meant that there is no DA/SA on the USG - it is a fairly light pull - consistent on every shot (like the QA trigger on the P99 as well). No, it isn't striker based. But, there is no external hammer, and there is no DA/SA. That is what I meant.

Every pull is the same. And, I am rather surprised at the # of members here at this site that advocate using the safety on a handgun (this came up on another thread recently). Unless the gun is a 1911 or a USP or something similar, and kept in the cocked and locked position, I don't feel it necessary to keep the safety on while carrying a handgun.

·
Premium Member
3,591 Posts