FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Scar 17 and this forum. I don't know if this topic has been addressed, so I apolize in advance if it's repetitive.

I was hoping to take my Scar 17 out to do some hog hunting. Unfortunately, in California we need to shoot non-lead ammo.

Does anyone have any recommendations or success stories of what non-lead ammo (including the grain weight) works the best in the Scar 17? I do not reload, so I'm looking for the specific manufacturer and ammo name along with the grain weight of the ammo.

I'm concerned about the accuracy of the non-lead ammo. I would like the ammo to shoot relatively accurate (say 3 inch groups or better if possible) at a range of 100 to 200 yards.

I've tried some Hornady Superperformance GMX .308 165 grain and have not had good groups. About 6 inch groups, although I'm still working on that!

Do you think the lighter 150 grain ammo would be better? Does the Scar 17 with it's short 16 inch barrel like lighter grain ammo better?

As this ammo is so expensive, I was hoping someone could dial me in without having to try everything out there.

I would really appreciate any assistance you can provide.

Thanks.

Shoot On!

·
Registered
600 Posts
I wish I could help you out but thus far I haven't shot any of the green/non lead ammo myself. Maybe someone around here will come along with the info your wanting.
Good luck on finding the ammo that your 17 likes and your hog hunt and Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
1,561 Posts