FN Herstal Firearms banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Administrator
11,189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need help with this one. I have a bunch of Lake City SS109 bullets (62 grain) that I want to use for reloading for the Five-seveN and the PS90. I would like to drop the bullet weight from 62 grains down to about 33 to 40 grains.

Based on the construction of the bullet, the lower half of the core of the bullet is filled with lead. I want to remove the lead to drop the weight and replace it with something else, a very light material - any suggestions?

Also, to remove the lead from the bullet I have read that some people drill the lead out. To me this seems like a long process especially when I have so many bullets to do. So I am thinking that I can use a propane tourch or some other means of heating the bullet lead so that it can be tapped out in liquid form.

As I am NOT a ballistics expert, if I replace the lead with a lighter material, how will this affect the properties of the bullet flight. Also, will heating the bullet to melt the lead cause any adverse changes in the metallergic properties of the copper bullet itself?

Or is it just best that I keep the 62 grain bullet in tact and use it only in the PS90 as a subsonic round?

Or is this the wrong place to discuss this. If so, how about some links?

Thanks

@ Shipwreck - Maybe we can start a new forum for reloaders and reloading information instead of just general 5.7 X 28 mm ammo topics. What do you think?

·
Registered
15,557 Posts
Re: RELOADERS - Best way to modify SS109 Bullet for Five-sev

HK SD9 Tactical said:
@ Shipwreck - Maybe we can start a new forum for reloaders and reloading information instead of just general 5.7 X 28 mm ammo topics. What do you think?