FN Herstal Firearms banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just wondering, for you reloaders out there, what have you been using for an all around target/plinking load in your FNP45's? Jacketed, plated, or lead? I've been using 5.4gr HP38/W231 under a 185gr HBRN Berry's Plated bullet, and it seems to be working nicely.

·
Registered
161 Posts
I use zero bullets JHP for everything I reaload (handguns anyway)
230g for 45 and 125g for 9mm I use unique powder and winchester primers these give no hiccups in any gun I own.

·
Registered
95 Posts
I have loaded most every good hard cast bullet I could get my hands on for years. But I have been using Extreme Bullets now for almost three years in most everything I shoot a lot in handguns and have seen very little leading and buildup. Even in the Glocks. I shoot both the hard cast and the plated bullets in 9mm, 10mm / .40, .44 and .45. I really like this bullet and weighing them on a random basis find them to be very consistent. I use Winchester primers and all of the most popular powders.

http://xtremebullets.com/better.htm

Constantly looling for quality components, :?

·
Registered
41 Posts
So far I've just used factory ammo, but in the morning I'm going to see how my standard handloads for .45acp work: 5.1g Bullseye under a 230g FMJ.

My 1911s eat 4.0g Bullseye under a 230g lead RN, but I have a feeling the recoil spring on the FNP is too stout to cycle these creampuff rounds.

·
Registered
873 Posts
There have been several reports of traditional "light" loadings not working in the FNP-45.

If you want to plink, use a model 1911.

If you want a weapon, use an FNP-45.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Yup, I did try my light load of 4.0g Bullseye under a 230g LRN today and had FTF and FTE problems all over the place. :-D I didn't expect it to work but thought I'd try.

My normal load of 5.1g Bullseye under 230g FMJ worked just fine.

·
Registered
133 Posts