FN Herstal Firearms banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, let me state I have NO relationship with the manufacturer of this product. I bought it at retail from the manufacturer's website.
All opinions are my own based on my needs and experiences. I have a lot of experience building and modifying firearms.

The product arrived promptly and in perfect condition.
There were no directions included.
An A2 style pistol grip was included and factory mounted on the lower.
I decided to start with a complete factory assembly.
I test fit all factory pins and found zero issues.
Assembly went well with no problems.
Trigger , safety, and all functions tested perfectly.
I used only 20 round Pmags for my testing.
Both original and new G3 mags were tested and dropped free.
With the mag inserted, there was some drag noted on the bolt catch release, but it did work.
This was caused by the offset design of the bolt catch release.
It was dragging slightly inside the magazine follower channel.
I decided to first test it as is with no mods.
The original Pmag follower sits slightly higher in the magazine than the G3
A slight raising of the catch was noted on the original design with one round in the mag, but not enough to cause an issue.
The G3 mag showed no raising of the catch with one round in the mag.

I installed the lower on a used black 17 I purchased with 200 rounds down the tube.
On assembly, the front pin was tight pushing it in or removing. A slight more than factory hand tight, but no big hammer needed :).
I think it will wear in fine.

I Hand function tested everything once installed and all passed with flying colors.
Ready to hit the range !
I shot 20 rounds of de-linked surplus 83 Port. through the original LR pmag.
Ran perfectly, held the bolt open, and dropped free.

At this point, I decided I was going to eliminate the slight bolt catch drag.